October 13th – Lucky for some


October 13th. It was on this day in 1899 that my grandpa and fellow soldiers were ordered off a ship from Calcutta. They didn’t want to disembark – it was Friday 13th and an unlucky day to begin anything new – but there was a war on and the officers were impatient to get started. Two days later grandpa was captured and stayed that way until the siege of Ladysmith.

I don’t know who the commanding officer was that day, but if he hadn’t got off the ship my grandpa might have not survived. And I would not be here. So whichever one you are in this photo, sir, I thank you.

2 Comments

Filed under Journal

2 responses to “October 13th – Lucky for some

  1. Is Friday the 13th unlucky in Indian culture? I did not know when I wrote about it in relation to luck/karma on my own blog. This is a nice story, good to see thanks to the person it is due to, though the Sustaining hand of the Lord surely activated that person.

Leave a Reply

